Binaural/Nodar retrospective catalogue + double CD on sale now

[Nodar003] Three Years In Nodar
Context-Specific Art Practices in Rural Portugal

315 pages full color catalogue
Accompanying double CD with 20 sound compositions made in Nodar

Price: 25 Euros + postage
For orders, please contact

The catalog includes essays, critical texts, field diaries, photographs and drawings of more than 40 artists who developed art projects at Nodar Artist Residency Center between 2007 and 2009.

The idea for this catalogue arose from the need to close a cycle, the first three years of regular artist residencies between 2007 and 2009, years where the hosted projects were mainly developed in Nodar. From 2010 onwards it is chosen an unifying theme for all projects and the residencies are more geographically expanded. A catalog of each annual cycle of activity will be published.

The Accompanying double CD, “Nodar Location-Specific Sound 2007-2009”, includes twenty sound compositions created in Nodar or composed from material collected there by many sound artists, contemporary composers and vocal performers. This CD is also a necessary embodiment of all sounds that filled the landscape of Nodar and had to be shared with a wider audience.

Texts by:

Aaron Ximm (USA), Alicja Rogalska (Poland), Amaya González (Spain), Andrea Brandão (Portugal), Antonio Pedro (Portugal), Arnold Haberl (Austria), Ben Owen (USA), Cédric Anglaret (France), Christine Niehoff (Germany), Dennis Báthory-Kitsz (USA), Duncan Whitley (England), Evelyn Müürsepp (Estonia), Francisco Janes (Portugal), Ignacio Martinez (Spain), Jason Kahn (USA), Joana Nascimento (Portugal), John Grzinich (USA), Jurate Jarulyte (Lithuania), Keiko Uenishi (Japan), Lezli Rubin-Kunda (Israel), Luciana Ohira (Brazil), Maile Colbert (USA), Maksims Shentelevs (Latvia), Manuela Barile (Italy), Maria Idília Martins (Portugal), Marta Bernardes (Portugal), Martin Clarke (England), Melanie Velarde (Australia), Nilo Gallego (Spain), Noemi Fidalgo (Spain), Pali Meursault (France), Peeter Laurits (Estonia), Rui Costa ( Portugal), Rui Silveira (Portugal), Satoshi Morita (Japan), Sergio Bonilha (Brazil) Sergio Cruz (Portugal), Stevie Balch (USA), Suzanne Caines (Canada), Svetlana Bogomolova (Russia), Toomas Thetloff (Estonia) , Vered Dror (Israel), Viv Corringham (England), Wolfgang Dorninger (Austria), Xesús Valle (Spain).

Sound compositions by:

Aaron (USA) Ximm, Martin Clarke (England) & Alicja Rogalska (Poland), Arnold Haberl (Austria), Ben Owen (USA), Dennis Báthory-Kitsz (USA), Duncan Whitley (England), Jason Kahn (USA) John Grzinich (USA), Keiko Uenishi (Japan), Maile Colbert (USA), Maksims Shentelevs (Latvia), Manuela Barile (Italy), Marta Bernardes (Portugal) & Ignacio Martinez (Spain), Melanie Velarde (Australia), Pali Meursault (France), Rui Costa (Portugal), Satoshi Morita (Japan), Viv Corringham (England), Wolfgang Dorninger (Austria), Xesús Valle (Spain).

2017-02-13T18:32:07+00:00 21 July, 2011|